Organising Committee


Professor Vincent Bulone | Co-Convenor

Professor Vincent Bulone is the Director of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Plant Cell Walls headquartered at the University of Adelaide. He is also the Director of Adelaide Glycomics, an analytical centre for complex carbohydrates recently established in collaboration with Agilent Technologies Australia Pty Ltd, and Director of the Global Institute for Traditional Chinese Medicine. 

His research is focused in various areas of Glycoscience, comprising fundamental research on plants and microorganisms, as well as biotechnological developments towards carbohydrate-based products relevant to the following areas: Bioenergy, Biomaterials, Biorefinery, Agriculture and Waste Management, Food Sustainability and Disease Control. 

Prior to his recruitment in Adelaide, Vincent was Director of the Centre for Biomimetic Fibre Engineering and The Advanced Carbohydrate Materials Consortium in Stockholm, Sweden. Vincent is the founder of the spin-out company CarbOzide Pty Ltd in Adelaide. The company exploits his recent invention on UV protective materials based on carbohydrates and natural molecular sunscreens from algae.


Professor Neil Gow | Co-Convenor

Professor Gow’s research career has been in the field of fungal biology and medical mycology.  He is known for his discoveries in fungal biology and genetics, morphogenesis and pathogenesis.  His studies of how the cell walls of fungal pathogenic species is assembled, responds to antifungal antibiotics and is recognised by the human immune system directly impacts on the design and use of antifungal drugs, diagnostics and immunotherapies for fungal diseases.

He trained at Edinburgh, Aberdeen and in Denver before returning to Aberdeen, where he has developed and nurtured a team that has recently become an MRC Centre for Medical Mycology and is one of the largest centres in this field worldwide.  He has helped coordinate UK training and research in medical mycology and has acted as President of the British Mycological Society, the International Society for Human and Animal Mycology and the Microbiology Society. 

Professor Gow has received many awards for his research has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the American Academy of Microbiology.


Committee Members

David Mathew, University of Adelaide
Stav Manafis, University of Adelaide